Skip to content

Cisco Switch Commands

  • March 31, 2013May 14, 2022
  • IT

I’m slowly progressing through learning the cisco switch commands configuration as I’m progressing learning this development.

I’ve currently managed to work out how to provide the following details at switch level with basic understanding of the switch commands

– specify a port description
– specify a switch / port IP address and subnet mask
– specify a hostname for the switch
– disable and re-enable the switch port

I’m a very basic beginner but I’ve already started to grasp an understanding of how to configure these switches now when you work out the structure of how the commands work it allows you to learn a lot faster.

Basically when you first login to the switch your in a view where you can see the basic configuration but you can’t make any changes. You then access the switch in a priveleged mode by using a command called “enable”

Once you are logged into the switch you can then issue the commands you want to use. If you want to configure the switch you enter the terminal configuration mode.

Then you configure the specific switchport (if it’s the vlan it’s vlan1) all ports are assigned this by default

It works like a folder structure, it would be like this each submenu would be a folder within the previous one (for example)

So changes made to fa0/2 would only affect that port, changes made to vlan1 would affect all ports

> vlan1
> fa0/1 (port 01 fast ethernet)
> fa0/2 (port 02 fast ethernet)
> fa0/3 (port 03 fast ethernet)
> fa0/4 (port 04 fast ethernet)
> fa0/5 (port 05 fast ethernet)
> fa0/6 (port 06 fast ethernet)
> fa0/7 (port 07 fast ethernet)

I’ll keep blogging as I work on more of it

Exit mobile version